Best way from 3Dmax to TopSolid

Integrated solution for design, manufacturing and management that provides all standard parts and procedures for wood processing.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

PAULVANTHOFF
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 2:00 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.19

Best way from 3Dmax to TopSolid

Unread post by PAULVANTHOFF » Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:30 pm

What is the best way to import from 3DMAX?

User avatar
Todd
First Officer Cadet
First Officer Cadet
Posts: 211
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:28 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.20
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Best way from 3Dmax to TopSolid

Unread post by Todd » Wed Feb 26, 2020 3:48 pm

Why would you want to do that is my first question? as mostly anything you import is not good CAD data or easy to modify no matter format it will be a basified shape with no parametric or associativity.
Attachments
file formats.png
Todd Craig
Great Lakes Woodworking
tcraig@glwdetroit.com

RaudMees
Major
Major
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:25 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.20
Contact:

Re: Best way from 3Dmax to TopSolid

Unread post by RaudMees » Wed Feb 26, 2020 6:36 pm

There is no good way to do that. One option is to export to DWG and then import it to TS, but it will be mess due 3DS Max using meshes, but You will need solid part. You can try to search solutions how to get solid part from 3DS Max, maybe it helps. I know some guys who are doing that badass things and they are using several softwares to get something good as base body to re-model it.
Not easy, but possible.

RM

PAULVANTHOFF
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Jul 08, 2019 2:00 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.19

Re: Best way from 3Dmax to TopSolid

Unread post by PAULVANTHOFF » Thu Jun 04, 2020 2:34 pm

Thank you for reply!

Post Reply