Edgebanding Over-evaluation/Over-dimension

Integrated solution for design, manufacturing and management that provides all standard parts and procedures for wood processing.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

User avatar
Derpomagix
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 6:10 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.18
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Earth, Milky Way, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Edgebanding Over-evaluation/Over-dimension

Unread post by Derpomagix » Mon Jan 27, 2020 8:46 pm

Hello All,

Got a bit of a puzzle I need help with, regarding the Panel function in TopSolid'Wood.

We use two thicknesses of edgeband - 0.5mm and 3mm.

When the panel function is applied, it removes 0.5mm or 3mm from the panel edges to compensate for the thickness of the edgeband.

However, our edgebander removes 0.5mm when it prepares the panel edge. So, ideally, we want it to take 0mm off when 0.5mm edging is applied, and 2.5mm when 3mm edging is applied.

I've mucked around with the "Over Dimension" and "Calibration overvaluation" settings in Tools>Options>TopSolid'Wood Configuration>Edge/Laminate to no avail.

Any ideas on how to correct this? :?

Thanks!
Last edited by Derpomagix on Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- Derpomagix

RaudMees
Major
Major
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:25 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.20
Contact:

Re: Edgebanding Over-evaluation/Over-dimension

Unread post by RaudMees » Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:14 am

Hi

Edgebanding system is weak. In Your case try to make fake edgebanding, which is visually 3mm thick, but it cuts 2.5mm. Section views are wrong, but part sizes are correct.
Nesting calculate edgebanding thickness off (always) and in my case I made edgebanding thickness 0.01mm. I got everything in BOM and part size - tolerance is 0.1mm, so that 0.01mm is nothing.
It's not easy part.

RM

User avatar
Derpomagix
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 6:10 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.18
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Earth, Milky Way, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Edgebanding Over-evaluation/Over-dimension

Unread post by Derpomagix » Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:44 pm

Thanks for the reply, RaudMees.

OK, that makes sense - but what do I need to adjust to make this happen? What in TopSolid determines how much material is taken off?
- Derpomagix

RaudMees
Major
Major
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:25 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.20
Contact:

Re: Edgebanding Over-evaluation/Over-dimension

Unread post by RaudMees » Tue Jan 28, 2020 1:50 pm

You have to create Your own edgebanding templates with right codes (just to remember, what they are and what they do) and right machining areas. It's not possible to change integrated TopSolid edgebandings.

RM

User avatar
Derpomagix
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 6:10 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.18
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Earth, Milky Way, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Edgebanding Over-evaluation/Over-dimension

Unread post by Derpomagix » Tue Jan 28, 2020 2:14 pm

So what file controls that? Would it be the Excel import file, or the Catalog, or what?
- Derpomagix

RaudMees
Major
Major
Posts: 140
Joined: Wed Dec 30, 2015 11:25 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.20
Contact:

Re: Edgebanding Over-evaluation/Over-dimension

Unread post by RaudMees » Tue Jan 28, 2020 4:42 pm

Here are 2 nice videos how to create Your own edgebandings. In Your case, make some rough tests, where and how Your own make cuttings off.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vz5bL5nduPo

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3bUi-SjRRpU

RM

User avatar
Derpomagix
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 15
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2019 6:10 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.18
Location: Toronto, Ontario, Canada, Earth, Milky Way, Universe, Multiverse
Contact:

Re: Edgebanding Over-evaluation/Over-dimension

Unread post by Derpomagix » Wed Jan 29, 2020 1:24 pm

Okee! So I figured this out.

In the .top files there is a parameter called "ep". This controls the thickness of the edgeband.

Revised that, and everything is coming out as intended now.

As you said, though, the sections will be incorrect. I don't think this will really have an impact as we mainly stick to dimensioning entire parts.

Thanks a bunch! :D
- Derpomagix

Post Reply