[Solved] chain to gears

Product design in 3D, mechanical engineering, kinematics, dynamics, parts and components, surfacic, assemblies...

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

odysseas
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 9:34 pm

[Solved] chain to gears

Unread post by odysseas » Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:43 pm

Hello all!
I want to design a bike .. managed to do the sprockets .. but I can not manage to put the chain and connect them!
How will I put the chain in two gears ? :?
thanx in advance!!!

ody
Last edited by odysseas on Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:54 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:56 am

Hi ody,

See if this helps you.

If it does, then i will explain how to do :wink:

Olaio
Attachments
Chain.zip
(133.08 KiB) Downloaded 184 times

odysseas
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 9:34 pm

Unread post by odysseas » Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:58 pm

hi Olaio,

Thanks for your interest! :D i can not open the file you sent me as I have old version of the program! I work (my boss have) the Top solid2007 :oops: .. could you send me a photo or something else. Really thank you very much.

Ody!

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Mon Apr 04, 2011 3:24 pm

Hi i am sending the TopView document.
Just download the viewer from www.TopSolid.com

Unfortunatly i think that i am using an option that you do not have in your version
edit :arrow: repeat :arrow: on curve :arrow: Distribution mode=MARK OUT Distance computing mode=CHORD LENGTH Transformation mode=2 POINTS

Can you check if you have these option?

Olaio
Attachments
Chain.zip
(47.31 KiB) Downloaded 174 times

odysseas
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 9:34 pm

Unread post by odysseas » Mon Apr 04, 2011 5:12 pm

hi Olaio,

I just saw the file you sent me is exactly what I want to do!!! :D
I looked at my version and the option that describes exists and is available!
do you think i can do it ? :shock:

ody!!

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Mon Apr 04, 2011 5:19 pm

Yes, you should be able to do it :lol:

odysseas
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 9:34 pm

Unread post by odysseas » Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:13 pm

hi,
Could you please describe the process ? :cry:

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:49 pm

OK,

First, you need to create a document where you have your "shackle".
Create 2 alternative sets to be able to insert them in the bike assembly. One with the outsides parts and the other with the inner parts.
Create a key point in one axis of the "shackle".
One important thing, if you want to be very accurate, you need to have the outside parts and the inner parts in the same alignement, i mean that you will "see" only one profile.
Check the topview file attached.

In your bike assembly, create the curve where you will insert the "shackle".

Create a coordinate system on the origin of the curve (very important that it is on the origin). Orient the coordinate system according to the one that you have in the "shackle".

Include the 2 alternative sets in the bike assembly, from the key point to the coordinate system created in the curve.

Then, Edit :arrow: Repeat :arrow: Select ONLY one alternative set :arrow: On Curve option :arrow: Select the curve :arrow: Choose the options:
Distribution mode=MARK OUT Distance computing mode=CHORD LENGHT Transformation mode= 2 POINTS distance= distance between the 2 "shackle"axis :arrow: enter :arrow: Select option ON ALL CURVE give the center of the first shaft axis for "Reference first point", give the center of the second shaft axis for "Reference second point".

Repeat the same for the second alternative set.
Now if you want to be accurate, you will nee to exclude instances of the repetition.

That's it, easy :wink:

Olaio
Attachments
Shackle.zip
(11.58 KiB) Downloaded 165 times

odysseas
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 9:34 pm

Unread post by odysseas » Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:33 pm

hi Olaio,
Thanks you very much for your interest and for your valuable advice.
I have problem with my chain .. is standard part i downloaded from the internet .. I can not work it out :cry: .. must draw the chain myself ..? the process is understood.

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Fri Apr 08, 2011 3:23 pm

Hi,

can you give us your component to check what is wrong?

Olaio

odysseas
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 9:34 pm

Unread post by odysseas » Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:00 pm

Hi,

this is the component. I downloaded from the internet.

ody
Attachments
03-1.top
(98.94 KiB) Downloaded 184 times

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:46 pm

Hi ody,

please find attached a parasolid file, with the parts that you need.
You need to make all the procedure that i explained you in previous post.

olaio
Attachments
03-1-olaio.zip
(9.77 KiB) Downloaded 166 times

odysseas
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 33
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 9:34 pm

Unread post by odysseas » Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:53 pm

Hi Olaio,

I did it finally! with your help of course!! I have no words to thank you my friend!I am grateful for that, you did.Τhanks! Take care!!! :D

Ody

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 185
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:10 pm

We are here for that :wink:

Olaio

Post Reply