Standard Component Sub-Component

Product design in 3D, mechanical engineering, kinematics, dynamics, parts and components, surfacic, assemblies...

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

Aaron A
Private
Private
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 17, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: Windsor, Ontario

Standard Component Sub-Component

Unread post by Aaron A » Tue Jan 29, 2013 11:09 pm

Hi everyone, Simple Question big problem here.

I want to make a Standard Component (a wearplate) that has screws as Sub-Components. But I also want the BOM in the 2D to show the code for the Screws. I have tried to get this to work but just cant seem to (uncluding typing in [<code>] in the screws Part Definition/Reference Box.

Everytime I pull in the Wearplate TopSolid BOM shows the Screw and the wearplate as both having the wearplates code.

Thanks!

User avatar
jacs
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2007 2:27 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Design
TopSolid Version: 7.6
Location: Los Angeles

Unread post by jacs » Tue Feb 05, 2013 11:36 pm

Hi,
I remember toying around this a long time ago!
It's been a while, but I think you have to use a way to differentiate the 2 <code> values. When I was using .cat files for my screws, I had to put a $ sign like this [<dollarsigncode>] (replace dollarsign by $) to tell TopSolid to read the reference value from the .cat file otherwise it reads it from the cad file properties.
I know it's not what you want to do exactly but that might lead you to a solution.
I would be happy to help more if you sent me your files so I can try on my side.

Jacs

Post Reply