Page 1 of 1

[Solved] chain to gears

Posted: Sun Apr 03, 2011 1:43 pm
by odysseas
Hello all!
I want to design a bike .. managed to do the sprockets .. but I can not manage to put the chain and connect them!
How will I put the chain in two gears ? :?
thanx in advance!!!

ody

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 10:56 am
by olaio
Hi ody,

See if this helps you.

If it does, then i will explain how to do :wink:

Olaio

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 1:58 pm
by odysseas
hi Olaio,

Thanks for your interest! :D i can not open the file you sent me as I have old version of the program! I work (my boss have) the Top solid2007 :oops: .. could you send me a photo or something else. Really thank you very much.

Ody!

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 3:24 pm
by olaio
Hi i am sending the TopView document.
Just download the viewer from www.TopSolid.com

Unfortunatly i think that i am using an option that you do not have in your version
edit :arrow: repeat :arrow: on curve :arrow: Distribution mode=MARK OUT Distance computing mode=CHORD LENGTH Transformation mode=2 POINTS

Can you check if you have these option?

Olaio

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 5:12 pm
by odysseas
hi Olaio,

I just saw the file you sent me is exactly what I want to do!!! :D
I looked at my version and the option that describes exists and is available!
do you think i can do it ? :shock:

ody!!

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 5:19 pm
by olaio
Yes, you should be able to do it :lol:

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:13 pm
by odysseas
hi,
Could you please describe the process ? :cry:

Posted: Mon Apr 04, 2011 6:49 pm
by olaio
OK,

First, you need to create a document where you have your "shackle".
Create 2 alternative sets to be able to insert them in the bike assembly. One with the outsides parts and the other with the inner parts.
Create a key point in one axis of the "shackle".
One important thing, if you want to be very accurate, you need to have the outside parts and the inner parts in the same alignement, i mean that you will "see" only one profile.
Check the topview file attached.

In your bike assembly, create the curve where you will insert the "shackle".

Create a coordinate system on the origin of the curve (very important that it is on the origin). Orient the coordinate system according to the one that you have in the "shackle".

Include the 2 alternative sets in the bike assembly, from the key point to the coordinate system created in the curve.

Then, Edit :arrow: Repeat :arrow: Select ONLY one alternative set :arrow: On Curve option :arrow: Select the curve :arrow: Choose the options:
Distribution mode=MARK OUT Distance computing mode=CHORD LENGHT Transformation mode= 2 POINTS distance= distance between the 2 "shackle"axis :arrow: enter :arrow: Select option ON ALL CURVE give the center of the first shaft axis for "Reference first point", give the center of the second shaft axis for "Reference second point".

Repeat the same for the second alternative set.
Now if you want to be accurate, you will nee to exclude instances of the repetition.

That's it, easy :wink:

Olaio

Posted: Tue Apr 05, 2011 7:33 pm
by odysseas
hi Olaio,
Thanks you very much for your interest and for your valuable advice.
I have problem with my chain .. is standard part i downloaded from the internet .. I can not work it out :cry: .. must draw the chain myself ..? the process is understood.

Posted: Fri Apr 08, 2011 3:23 pm
by olaio
Hi,

can you give us your component to check what is wrong?

Olaio

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 12:00 pm
by odysseas
Hi,

this is the component. I downloaded from the internet.

ody

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 3:46 pm
by olaio
Hi ody,

please find attached a parasolid file, with the parts that you need.
You need to make all the procedure that i explained you in previous post.

olaio

Posted: Mon Apr 11, 2011 5:53 pm
by odysseas
Hi Olaio,

I did it finally! with your help of course!! I have no words to thank you my friend!I am grateful for that, you did.Ī¤hanks! Take care!!! :D

Ody

Posted: Tue Apr 12, 2011 12:10 pm
by olaio
We are here for that :wink:

Olaio