Stainless stell render

Product design in 3D, mechanical engineering, kinematics, dynamics, parts and components, surfacic, assemblies...

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Stainless stell render

Unread post by olaio » Wed Oct 07, 2009 11:07 am

Hi,

does anyone know the process to create a beautiful stainless steel efect to render a part?

User avatar
Daniel
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:53 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Unread post by Daniel » Wed Oct 07, 2009 3:48 pm

Did a quick test in TS V7.2 using a texture made in Photoshop to make a "brushed Stainless steel" look. Don´t know if it looks good enough but i guess one can play arund with settings and lights to make it look better...

/Daniel
Attachments
Stainless_Steel_Test.jpg
Daniel Norée

Visit http://www.TopSolidBlog.com for the latest news & info on TopSolid 7!

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Wed Oct 07, 2009 5:38 pm

Ok, it looks nice.

But what about TS 6.10?
For example the spheres of a bearing, they are like mirrors and with steel appearance. How can we create the texture for those kind of parts?
Is it possible to create this kind of texture without importing an external texture?

Pieter
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:39 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Unread post by Pieter » Mon Oct 12, 2009 11:52 am

Hi,

In 6.10 you can create multiple layers, one with "bruched steel" and one with mirror effect.
You need to "play" with the degree in wich it is used. 1 = 100%, 0.5 = 50%
So if you have a "replace" layer of 0.5, this layer will replace the existing texture for 50%.

Hope this helps

Pieter

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Mon Oct 12, 2009 12:30 pm

Hi Pieter,

This option (multi layer) was already available in previous versions of TS.
My dificulty is exactly how to play to get the desired effect!
There are so many options, replace, add, bump, reflection, ..., to play with the layers, that you can spend a lot of times only to get what you need!

My intent was to check if someone already had spend this time and share with us his experience.

This is a small example of what i have been playing.

Thanks
Attachments
Parts.jpg

User avatar
jehronimo
Major
Major
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:05 pm

Unread post by jehronimo » Mon Oct 12, 2009 3:16 pm

Hi,

You are right, and to get a good result, you must spend sometimes a lot of time, just to set correctly the lights and the way to manage the shadows! Just after 10mn of work, you can get this kind of result, but you are right, it is sometimes difficult to understand what will be the result, if you manage some style parameters ...

I guess you have to try, and by yourself remember the option you set to have a such result :D
Attachments
render.jpg

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Mon Oct 12, 2009 3:44 pm

Thanks to all of you.

Ok, i will keep to try with diferent options. The major problem is that i am "only" CAD user and not "image soft" user :wink: .
I am sure that the guys (and girls) that uses softwares to create beautiful images have not this kind of doubts.

So, let's get hands on work and check maybe in other forums
:wink:

User avatar
Daniel
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:53 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Unread post by Daniel » Mon Oct 12, 2009 4:17 pm

If you want to try other software for rendering you can always try blender at: www.blender.org which is a free and open source software! I have not tried it myself but i´m sure it can produce what you need!

Maybe you can post your result here later on?

Good luck!

/Daniel
Daniel Norée

Visit http://www.TopSolidBlog.com for the latest news & info on TopSolid 7!

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 183
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Mon Oct 12, 2009 4:41 pm

Hi,

i already tried with blender.
My first problem was "how to work with blender?"
It is NOT easy at the begining, even now ir is not easy, at least for me :wink:
After, the next problem "how to recover the TopSolid work?"
OK, i tried to export with the stl option and the result was not OK :cry: . I was not able to see all my parts in blender.
At last, but not least, the problem is still the same:

- YOU NEED TO PLAY WITH A LOT OF OPTIONS!!!!!!!!!:twisted: :twisted: :twisted:

So, i gave up and now i play with some parameters/options only in TopSolid.

User avatar
Daniel
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 56
Joined: Tue Aug 25, 2009 2:53 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Unread post by Daniel » Mon Oct 12, 2009 5:21 pm

ok. Sorry, but i did not realise that you had already tried that.
I have worked a little with maxwell render which delivers premium results but you are right about the need to spend alot of time with the software.
I really wish i could help you get what you want, sorry.

/daniel
Daniel Norée

Visit http://www.TopSolidBlog.com for the latest news & info on TopSolid 7!

Post Reply