[Solved] LINKS, .XLS, SLAVE PARTS

Product design in 3D, mechanical engineering, kinematics, dynamics, parts and components, surfacic, assemblies...

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

Top'Noob
First Officer Cadet
First Officer Cadet
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 3:05 pm

[Solved] LINKS, .XLS, SLAVE PARTS

Unread post by Top'Noob » Fri Aug 03, 2007 9:47 pm

Hello,

I am just playing around with the new Slave Part feature. This seems very handy so far. 8)

For starters, I made a Mold design with the Top'Mold module. After that was done I decided to make some slave files to create my electrodes (manually because I do not have the Top'Electrode). The first slave file was for the bottom cavity. I then opened the slave file and used File, Include to include two separate "insert" slave files I had also created.

I became curious about how this was all working out as far as referencing the original .mld file so I used File, Links to check it out...

I was surprised that the Master file does not show up in Links for the slaved part. Shouldn't it be listed here ?

I then ran File,Links on the Master file. I saw that the slaved files were listed there. That seems good...

While browsing through there I found that there was an .xls (Excel) file listed in the links. This file SHOULD NOT be listed in the links because it is not related to the other files. The only thing it has in common is that it resides in the same folder as the Master and Slave documents. :shock:

Does this sound like a bug ? Or is TS supposed to do this for some reason ? I don't know if it would cause many problems down the road or not but it seemed worth mentioning.

User avatar
TopSolid2007
Master Chief
Master Chief
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu May 10, 2007 4:28 pm
Location: São Bernardo do Campo - SP
Contact:

Unread post by TopSolid2007 » Fri Aug 17, 2007 3:14 am

PolimoldThe bigger problem when working with slave parts is that the TopSolid'CAM does not recognize none features, It works lije a imported Parasolid file....

It is not good for me....

Angelucci

corne

Unread post by corne » Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:49 am

TopSolid2007 wrote:PolimoldThe bigger problem when working with slave parts is that the TopSolid'CAM does not recognize none features, It works lije a imported Parasolid file....

It is not good for me....

Angelucci
Are the people of TopSolid'Cam working on this problem?

corne

User avatar
jalapeno
Private
Private
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 10:17 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Unread post by jalapeno » Thu Oct 11, 2007 1:59 pm

Hi,

in the next TopSolid'Cam Patch 68236 it is able to work with the features analyze with slave parts. But you need the TopSolid'Design patch 68236, too. Further you need a spezific key word in the top.cfg file.
Regards

jalapeno

User avatar
jehronimo
Major
Major
Posts: 149
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 1:05 pm

Unread post by jehronimo » Thu Oct 11, 2007 3:06 pm

Hi,

We are running the v6.8.232 TopSolid'Cam patch with the v6.8.236 TopSolid patch (this is also the TopSolid'Mold patch), and there are no problems anymore :D

The keyword to add in your top.cfg file is

D_SH_OP_DRILL_USE_MAC_PROPERTY [tab] 1

It also works for the drill table in the 2D. It means you can make your detail views from the slave part, without the opening of the full mold :wink:

Jehronimo

Top'Noob
First Officer Cadet
First Officer Cadet
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 3:05 pm

Unread post by Top'Noob » Thu Oct 11, 2007 11:31 pm

Thanks for the info ! 8)

Post Reply