top solid 7 tool !

Everything about new TopSolid'Cam 7 software.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, Bill

solidsnake
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:22 pm

top solid 7 tool !

Unread post by solidsnake » Wed Jan 11, 2012 1:01 pm

I tried to create a new library tool ...
Following the tutorial ... ... bur designed and implemented all the functions ...
But when you step into the Cam and choose the tools ...
... I find the new library ... but not the tool designed ... why?
thanks

User avatar
Bill
Master Chief
Master Chief
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:17 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Design
TopSolid Version: 7.5
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Unread post by Bill » Wed Jan 11, 2012 4:52 pm

HI,
Here are some things that you can check:

1) When you designed your tool, did you assign the proper funcitons to it?
2) once you have designed your tool and applied the functions, did you check in the tool to the PDM?
3) If the tool is in a user defined library, have you included a reference to the library in your projects references folder?
4) Also if the tool is in a user defined library, have you checked-in and then validated the design?

It is likely one of those problems that you need to resolve before it will work.
Happy Designing
Bill
Technical Director
Missler Software Inc

solidsnake
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2010 3:22 pm

tool

Unread post by solidsnake » Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:46 pm

thanks for the answer ...
... there are not many tutorials for creating the tools ...
... and the online help is not complete ...
1 ... I created a new library
2 ... I designed a tool
3 ... I have assigned functions to tool
4 ... check-in ...
5 ... I see the new created library in the references ...
6 ... but I do not see the tool in the work created within the library
7 ... why ?
8 ... there are not videos on the creation of a new tool ?
thanks

User avatar
Bill
Master Chief
Master Chief
Posts: 115
Joined: Wed Feb 21, 2007 8:17 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Design
TopSolid Version: 7.5
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Unread post by Bill » Wed Jan 11, 2012 6:54 pm

Hi there,

After checking in, you need to Validate the design. This is because you are in a library. The act of Validating closes the major revision and then makes that object available to all.

I will try to make a video in the future for this.

So many videos to make...not enough time in the day

let me know if you get it to work
Happy Designing
Bill
Technical Director
Missler Software Inc

Post Reply