Real time data update

Forum about TopSolid'Design 7 release.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs, Romain, Bill

User avatar
marco
Private
Private
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:05 pm
Location: The Netherlands | Spain | Italy
Contact:

Real time data update

Unread post by marco » Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:27 am

Dear All,
Untill the TS 2008 I could manipulate geometries and see parametrs values changing in real time. Moreover I coud manipulate the 2D geometries driving 3D surfaces, and see the entire system changing in real time. I'm trying to figurate out how this works in the new TopSolid 7. I automatically have a sketch with 2D geometries, and , to build a shape on this geometry, I have to do that outside the sketch. So it seems I cannot manipulate in real time both things, and see in the screen both changes. I manipulate the sketch and then I go back to the shape and only in that moment I see it updated. Is this the way the new TS works or I am doing something wrong? What is sure that I cannot work as I used in the last 5 years. Maybe there is some visualization mode I cannot find. Then, any way to control line style, points style, line thikness, activate/deactivate layers, make a layer current etc?
Regards.
Marco Verde Engineer, MArch
www.p-a-web.com
www.marco-verde.blogspot.com

FrDel
Private
Private
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 06, 2009 8:25 am

Unread post by FrDel » Tue Nov 10, 2009 2:23 pm

So you have a shape made of a sketch?

double click on the shape, you'll show the sketch, and the extrusion dimensions. then double click the skecth, you'll see the dimensions of this skecth.

To hide the skecth or the dimensions, just double click again on the shape.

it should be easier than TS6 (clicking on the driving elements icon then clicking on the shape).

Regards,

User avatar
marco
Private
Private
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:05 pm
Location: The Netherlands | Spain | Italy
Contact:

Unread post by marco » Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:15 pm

The point is that I don't want to get in the sketch mode in order to edit the geometry of the shape. I want to be able to move, for example, a control point of the generative curve and see "in real time" the change in the shape as well. This was normal in the old versions.
Any comment on that?
Marco Verde Engineer, MArch
www.p-a-web.com
www.marco-verde.blogspot.com

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 182
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Unread post by olaio » Tue Nov 10, 2009 6:33 pm

Hi marco

unfortunatly, i do not believe that you can do this in TS 7.
Even in TS 6 if you use the sktech tool to create shapes, you are not able to modify the sketch "on the fly".

cumprimentos,

olaio

User avatar
marco
Private
Private
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:05 pm
Location: The Netherlands | Spain | Italy
Contact:

Unread post by marco » Tue Nov 10, 2009 10:17 pm

Soo bad. I really do not understand the point of such a change. Actually, I never used the sketch mode, since I guess that one of the most powerful features of parametric associative software is the continuous 3D integral interaction that, as designer, you can have with your design/system and final product at the same time. I need a real time update of data, I need moving a slider in real time parametrically controlling, for example, the diameter of a hole and se in real time everything being updated. I need this to verify “in every momentâ€
Marco Verde Engineer, MArch
www.p-a-web.com
www.marco-verde.blogspot.com

Top'Noob
First Officer Cadet
First Officer Cadet
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 3:05 pm

Unread post by Top'Noob » Wed Nov 11, 2009 12:21 pm

I am just starting to get involved with TS7 personally but so far it seems that the intent was to make it very easy to get into the sketch and make a change. I think that once we get used to this new style of working the simplification provided by editing the sketch without seeing the part will be seen as a welcome enhancement.

Once a change is made we can use UNDO & RE-DO to evaluate the effect of our changes. 8)

User avatar
marco
Private
Private
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Oct 03, 2008 10:05 pm
Location: The Netherlands | Spain | Italy
Contact:

Unread post by marco » Wed Nov 11, 2009 6:43 pm

Well, due to the usage I do of the software, this kind of rigid separation sketch 3D is a drawback. In addition, I cannot do the same kind of designs and explorations I use to do! I cannot even do the simplest exercise I used to teach to my students! I should have at least the chance to shift from the TS7 "frozen mode" to a dynamic/interactive mode. “Undoâ€
Marco Verde Engineer, MArch
www.p-a-web.com
www.marco-verde.blogspot.com

Post Reply