Page 1 of 1

pocketing

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:04 am
by Esau
hi,
I would like to cut a pocket as should in the figure , the figure has bigger pocket and smaller pocket .
I would like to design a pocket which is easy for manufacturing i.e when i cut the small pocket the milling tool should not touch the bigger pocket .

Can you kindly suggest a better method to cut the smaller pocket so that the tool doesn't touch the bigger pocket.

regards

Paulson

Re: pocketing

Posted: Tue Jan 15, 2019 3:08 pm
by Billetgrip
So it's trying to cut both pockets in one operation now? and you don't want it to do that?

First are you using roughing or endmilling? Endmilling with an open pocket strategy should give you what you're looking for. Just select the floor of the pocket.

You could also use sidemilling with multiple stepovers. Just select the wall. That's probably what I would do just by glancing at your screenshot.

Re: pocketing

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 7:57 am
by Esau
Esau wrote:
Tue Jan 15, 2019 9:04 am
hi,
I would like to cut a pocket as should in the figure , the figure has bigger pocket and smaller pocket .
I would like to design a pocket which is easy for manufacturing i.e when i cut the small pocket the milling tool should not touch the bigger pocket .

Can you kindly suggest a better method to cut the smaller pocket so that the tool doesn't touch the bigger pocket.

regards

Paulson

Re: pocketing

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 9:27 am
by Esau
hi Billetgrip,
thanks for the reply!,
I think you have confussed about my required .
my requirement is not on the cam.

how to create the pocket in design stage similar to machining like profile to cut should resemble the cutting tools.
In my previous cad software I was using sweep command to cut the pocket .

In TopSolid when i use sweep command the center material is not removed, i have to use another feature to remove the center material.
I am expecting all this to be done in one feature.

regards,
Paulson

Re: pocketing

Posted: Wed Jan 16, 2019 1:27 pm
by Billetgrip
Ah ok. Sorry.

I'm not quite sure I understand what you're trying to do.

Pockets are usually just create a closed sketch on a body, right click the sketch, select pocket then set your depth limits.