Problems (Memory, printing)

Issues and questions related to TopSolid installation.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

DownFloppy
Private
Private
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:43 am

Problems (Memory, printing)

Unread post by DownFloppy » Thu Aug 16, 2007 8:07 am

Hi,
i have many problems with TopSolid v6.7 patch 310.

1st problem on both PCs: Randomly a get an error message from TopSolid "Nicht genügend freier Speicher" (not enough free memory) but what memory? HDD, RAM or swapfile? I save my files on my server (freespace: >100GB, gigabit ethernet) Mostly when the taskmanager shows that the swapfile is bigger then 2GB.

The 2nd problem only on my 64-bit PC: when i make a pagepreview randomly freezes TopSolid only the menubar is functionally. I can no save or close TopSolid. Who is debt? HP, Missler or MS??

My PCs:
Intel C2D 6700
4GB RAM
nv8600GT 256MB
80 GB HDD
WinXP 64-bit (with latest driver and patches)
(swapfile: 4GB)

AMD Athlon64 3500+
2GB RAM
nv7600GT 256MB
80 GB HDD
WinXP 32-bit (with latest driver and patches)
(swapfile: 4GB)
HP Designjet 800

sorry for my very bad english :)

DownFloppy
Private
Private
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:43 am

Need help!

Unread post by DownFloppy » Tue Aug 21, 2007 7:09 am

Does nobody have a solution?
is someone here from Missler?

Thx for all answer

Top'Noob
First Officer Cadet
First Officer Cadet
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 3:05 pm

Unread post by Top'Noob » Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:30 am

Hi,

According to the Missler website, you can update to 6.7.322

I have never had a memory error when printing.

I thought 64 bit support only began with version 6.8 ?

Just a guess here... Is it possible that when TS "freezes" it could be waiting for your answer in another dialog box ?

DownFloppy
Private
Private
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:43 am

Unread post by DownFloppy » Wed Aug 22, 2007 10:12 am

Thanks for your answer.
the memory-problem is different to the printing-problem. The memory error appears only sometimes (32-bit and 64-bit! if swapsize has more then 2GB?). The printer-problem is probably only in the case of networkprinters!

Printing -> Freezes (only menubar functions)
Memory-Error -> any function ending in Memory-Error

I hope somebody can help me and thx for all answers.

DownFloppy
Private
Private
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:43 am

Unread post by DownFloppy » Fri Aug 24, 2007 7:47 am

Hi,

the printer-problem is also in case of local printers.

Top'Noob
First Officer Cadet
First Officer Cadet
Posts: 245
Joined: Fri Jun 15, 2007 3:05 pm

Unread post by Top'Noob » Fri Aug 24, 2007 1:45 pm

I rarely use print preview and don't remember getting any freezing...

I do recall that with a fresh install I have error messages from the print configuration. I modified my print configuration extensively to stop the errors and also to generate the output I desire.

Perhaps you'd like to try my config and see if that helps ?

I think you'll have to copy this file into C:\Missler\config\printer...... and also probably select this config thru the print dialog...

http://www.box.net/shared/iodqxov8gu

I am just guessing here... Try at your own risk :shock:

DownFloppy
Private
Private
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:43 am

Unread post by DownFloppy » Mon Aug 27, 2007 7:21 am

@Top'Noob
Thank you. I will try it.

DownFloppy
Private
Private
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:43 am

still no solution

Unread post by DownFloppy » Tue Aug 28, 2007 7:36 am

Hi,
the file from Top'Noob brought nothing. :( Every time the printer dialogue of TopSolid does not take over the paper format in the printer driver, TopSolid freezes.

Can anybody help me????????????

DownFloppy
Private
Private
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:43 am

Unread post by DownFloppy » Tue Sep 11, 2007 9:19 am

Am I the only one, who has these problems? :(

Post Reply