Moving the PDM server to the cloud

Issues and questions related to TopSolid installation.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

d.k.liu
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Nov 24, 2014 1:06 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Design
TopSolid Version: 7.5

Moving the PDM server to the cloud

Unread post by d.k.liu » Tue Sep 01, 2015 9:06 am

Does anyone have experience of setting up the PDM server on a VPS?

We are an Australian company with an office in China [1].
We would like to make the PDM server available to our engineer in China, but we have not been able to set up a reliable VPN connection from the PDM server residing in our Australian office. We suspect it's mostly due to the Great Firewall of China monitoring VPN traffic.

We are not sure what the best solution is in terms of making the data available over the internet. I would be very interested to hear the experiences of others companies with pushing data over the cloud.

Edit:
1. Chinese -> China

Kyle
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 20
Joined: Tue Jul 16, 2013 7:25 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Cam
TopSolid Version: 6.18
Location: Chicago
Contact:

Re: Moving the PDM server to the cloud

Unread post by Kyle » Thu Sep 17, 2015 5:26 pm

Hello,
TopSolid doesn't directly support this yet! The only solution currently, is to find a service that can host your sql server. The problem with that is, it would get rather expensive. There would be alot of data this thrid party would have to host.

Post Reply