Need help with milling lumber.

Integrated CAM application for wood industry.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs, Liam

User avatar
JWALSH
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:18 pm
Location: St. Paul, Kansas
Contact:

Need help with milling lumber.

Unread post by JWALSH » Tue Apr 07, 2009 7:52 pm

Hello,

I need help with milling lumber. We do a lot of counter top nosing and radius base moldings on our CNC router. Before we got TopSolid we were milling a reference board out of MDF and screwing lumber to it for our parts. We were doing this with AutoCad. I want to know an easy way of routing radius lumber with critical glue joint locations. What I mean is, we glue our lumber together and layout were our glue joints are to keep seems inline with each other for a more professional look. I want to do the same thing with TopSolid. Does anyone have any ideas on this. The only way I can think of is to Make a 3d model of our reference boards and attach lumber. But that seems like a lengthy process.

Thanks
jwalsh

Pieter
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:39 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Unread post by Pieter » Fri Apr 10, 2009 12:04 pm

hello JWALSH,

I'm sorry I have no idea what you are talking about :oops:

Could you explain?

Pieter

User avatar
JWALSH
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:18 pm
Location: St. Paul, Kansas
Contact:

Unread post by JWALSH » Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:11 pm

See if this picture can explain a little better.
Attachments
REF BOARD EXAMPLE.png

Pieter
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:39 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Unread post by Pieter » Wed Apr 15, 2009 12:23 pm

Hi,

I'm sorry. Still missig the point of the question.
I think I understand what you want to do, but I don't see the problem.

You can just take the 3 parts from your 3D drawing and put them on the machine as an assembly, no?
Make a "mobile" "stop" so you can put your parts away from the actual stop, and keep your origin on the original stop?

Regards

Pieter

User avatar
JWALSH
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:18 pm
Location: St. Paul, Kansas
Contact:

Unread post by JWALSH » Mon Apr 20, 2009 4:07 pm

Our CNC router has a vacuum table. We have to have a large surface area touching the table to hold the suction of the parts. That is why we us mdf to hold are parts while we rout them. Does this make sense?

Pieter
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Mar 12, 2007 1:39 pm
Location: Brussels, Belgium
Contact:

Unread post by Pieter » Tue May 19, 2009 12:00 pm

HI,

Yes, I think I understand what you want to do.
What is the problem?

regards

User avatar
JWALSH
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Mar 11, 2009 4:18 pm
Location: St. Paul, Kansas
Contact:

Unread post by JWALSH » Tue May 19, 2009 12:43 pm

I think we have it under control now. Thanks for trying to help out.


thanks
JWALSH

Post Reply