No valid constraint set by dimensions?

Integrated solution for design, manufacturing and management that provides all standard parts and procedures for wood processing.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

Robert
Second Officer Cadet
Second Officer Cadet
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:31 pm
Location: Georgia

No valid constraint set by dimensions?

Unread post by Robert » Mon Jul 25, 2016 10:44 pm

I have a parametric cabinet created by using Constrained Block. I have created a constrained curve on the back panel and when i change the dimension of the cabinet the dimension of the curve change with it, but as soon as I create a machining operation off the curve I get a "no valid constraint set by dimensions" and the curve on the back panel is not constrained to the cabinet? any suggestion on what would be causing this?
Attachments
constrained_block_cabinet_01.top
(54.37 KiB) Downloaded 139 times
ts_02.jpg

Chad
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 7:55 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.20
Location: PA
Contact:

Re: No valid constraint set by dimensions?

Unread post by Chad » Tue Jul 26, 2016 1:46 pm

Hey Robert,

Not sure what is wrong. I deleted your contour, and put it back on from the back of the part. Put your parameters back on, and added a pocket. Seems to be working fine. I'm using 6.17.220.21
Attachments
constrained_block_cabinet_02.top
(62.15 KiB) Downloaded 139 times

User avatar
Todd
Second Officer Cadet
Second Officer Cadet
Posts: 198
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:28 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.20
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: No valid constraint set by dimensions?

Unread post by Todd » Tue Jul 26, 2016 2:02 pm

all I did was delete your rpos dimension/constraints and re-attach it to the back panel as it did not match the other 3 constraints attachment edge. and that fixed it
Todd Craig
Great Lakes Woodworking

Robert
Second Officer Cadet
Second Officer Cadet
Posts: 200
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 4:31 pm
Location: Georgia

Re: No valid constraint set by dimensions?

Unread post by Robert » Tue Jul 26, 2016 10:30 pm

I was overthinking it at the end of a work day, I did what you said and it worked fine, thanks for your help.

Post Reply