Partnames in draft

Integrated solution for design, manufacturing and management that provides all standard parts and procedures for wood processing.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

Schaecht1
Private
Private
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:20 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.15

Partnames in draft

Unread post by Schaecht1 » Thu Feb 26, 2015 11:45 am

Hey,

I was wondering if it is possible to name the parts when you insert the assembly. For now, I've done it manually.
But is there a way to do this automaticly when you insert the assembly? Thanks in advance.

User avatar
Todd
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:28 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.18
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Partnames in draft

Unread post by Todd » Fri Feb 27, 2015 2:44 pm

This is not exactly what you want but if you use the Catalog function with component you can control the parts in a sub-assembly better

Assembly | Define component | Define edit / save template

Assembly | Define component | Edit catalog header

Assembly | Define component | Define sub-component
Todd Craig
Great Lakes Woodworking

Mark Oostveen
Chief
Chief
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:40 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Cam
TopSolid Version: 7.6
Location: The netherlands
Contact:

Re: Partnames in draft

Unread post by Mark Oostveen » Mon Mar 02, 2015 12:51 pm

Can you explain what you mean? I don't quit understand you

User avatar
Todd
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 183
Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2014 9:28 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.18
Location: Detroit, MI

Re: Partnames in draft

Unread post by Todd » Mon Mar 02, 2015 3:24 pm

best explanation I cant give you videos or images cause I'm on TopSolid wood 6.15
Todd Craig
Great Lakes Woodworking

Mark Oostveen
Chief
Chief
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:40 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Cam
TopSolid Version: 7.6
Location: The netherlands
Contact:

Re: Partnames in draft

Unread post by Mark Oostveen » Mon Mar 02, 2015 8:38 pm

Todd I don't want your explanation but more from the topic starter. What does he want.

Schaecht1
Private
Private
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jan 28, 2015 10:20 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.15

Re: Partnames in draft

Unread post by Schaecht1 » Wed Mar 25, 2015 7:43 am

I was wondering if it is possible to name the parts when you insert the assembly 'in draft mode'.
I forgot those last three words. Sorry...

Mark Oostveen
Chief
Chief
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:40 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Cam
TopSolid Version: 7.6
Location: The netherlands
Contact:

Re: Partnames in draft

Unread post by Mark Oostveen » Fri Mar 27, 2015 8:14 pm

Normaly you define the assembly in the 3d Design document there you give the parts a name.

Assembly - define parts

As you have done that you start a new draft. Here you make a new view. As it asks for the parts to project you select in the menu bar the 3d document containing the assembly to project.

Now you get your views. If you create a BOM you will have the names of the parts as defined in 3d on you draft.

Is that what you want?

Mark

Post Reply