[Solved] TopSolid Formula List?

CAD solution for mold making: slider design, guide rails, jacks,
mold base, components and process, coolant circuit, control via mold levels, creation of drawings, parts lists...

Moderators: remi77, jacs, Daniel

JEFF_STALLONE
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:10 pm

[Solved] TopSolid Formula List?

Unread post by JEFF_STALLONE »

Does anyone have a List of useable formulas and useable characters for TS?

I understand that TS is said to be able to handle quite a bit as far as formulas so, do we have a list or examples of some formulas somewhere.
How They are used?
What they are used for?
Where they can be used?

I was told that TS is capable of doing <, >, as well. Is it the same as Excel?
If so, does this mean we need brackets () commas, spaces?

I'm sure someone must have a list out there?
:lol:
User avatar
Larry M.
Master Chief
Master Chief
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:03 am
Location: Michigan

Unread post by Larry M. »

Use Help.

Under Content open up Parameters and then select "Entering an expession"

That should be what your looking for.
JEFF_STALLONE
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri Dec 07, 2007 1:10 pm

return

Unread post by JEFF_STALLONE »

Larry,

Thank you for showing me where to find that. It will deffinately come in handy later.
I am however curious about what they mean by "returns" listed on the sheet under description.

ex.
Function Description
WHEN(x,y,z) Returns z if x=0 and y if not

what exactly does this mean?

I am currently trying to create a water manifold as an assembly and i understand that we will have to use some long formulas but does anyone know what the list of expressions mean?
User avatar
D@vid
Administator
Administator
Posts: 82
Joined: Mon Feb 19, 2007 10:29 pm
Answers: 1
TopSolid Version: 7.12
Location: Nantes, France
Contact:

Unread post by D@vid »

Here is an example of condition
If l > 20 then d=l/2 else d=4
Creation of parameter

Code: Select all

l=15
and parameter

Code: Select all

d=when(greater(l,20),l/2,4)

Parameters formula list
PI 3.1415926535897932385
COS(x) SIN(x) TAN(x) Cosine, Sine, Tangent
ACOS(x) ASIN(x) ATAN(x) Arc cosine, Arc sine, Arc tangent of an angle
ATAN2(x,y) ATAN(x/y)
EXP(x) LN(x) LOG(x) Exponential (e^x), Neperian and decimal logarithm
SQRT(x) Square root
ABS(x) MAX(x,y) MIN(x,y) Absolute, maximal and minimal value
AND(x,y) OR(x,y)
NOT(x) Boolean operators
WHEN(x,y,z) Returns z if x = 0 and y if not
x==y Returns 1 if x = y
x>=y Returns 1 if x >(or equal) y
x>y Returns 1 if x > y
x<=y Returns 1 if x <(or equal) y
x<y Returns 1 if x < y
x!=y Returns 1 if x different from y
CEIL2(x) Converts a floating value to an integer by closest upper value
ROUND2(x) Converts by closest value
FLOOR2(x) Converts by closest lower value

Rgds
D@vid

TopSolid'Forum Administrator
micos3
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:14 am

Unread post by micos3 »

Hi

i'm trying to round the dimensions of block. I've tryied many ways, any of them didn't worked. What am i doing wrong?
I let some examples.

Thanks

Ex.
Round3($Finish.xmax) -> is making this writed
$Round3($Finish.xmax) ->same
$(round((Finish.zmax),2) -> gives 0
and i tryied many more solutions
User avatar
Larry M.
Master Chief
Master Chief
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:03 am
Location: Michigan

Unread post by Larry M. »

The command is always ROUND2.

Example: X=21.045869

Round2(X,.001) would round the X dimension off to 3plcs. 21.046 would be the output.

Round2(X,1) would give you 21.0 as the answer. Rounding to the nearest whole number.

Round2(X,.05) would round it to the nearest .05 mark. 21.050 would be the answer.

So..... it's ROUND2 ( (VARIABLE YOU WANT TO ROUND), (The Dimensions you want to round of too))

The help doesn't display the command correctly, unless you go to the examples.

Hope it helps.

Ceil2 and floor2 work the same, except they always go up (Ceil2) or always down (Floor2).

Help Examples:

Example1 :

Let a parameter be a = 125.36 cm with the cm as current unit in TopSolid.

round2(a,1mm) =125.4cm

round2(a,1dm) = 13dm

The step for the rounding off can be modify. So we get:

round2(a,10cm) = 130cm

floor2(a,10cm) = 120cm

Example2 :

You can also not specify the reference unit. In that case, the current unit in TopSolid s used.

Let a parameter be a = 125.36 mm with the mm as current unit.

round2(a,1) =125mm

round2(a,2) = 126mm
micos3
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:14 am

Unread post by micos3 »

I'm not getting there and i don't know why, it may be because of my version or my not updated patch, i don't know. It appears only the witted text.
I'll post my sketched sheet just to see if u can see what's wrong.
Ain't finished yet, and is a litle confused, but i'm studying details like this and take time so solve.

Thanks
Attachments
List###Teste 10.dft
(8.24 KiB) Downloaded 786 times
User avatar
Larry M.
Master Chief
Master Chief
Posts: 132
Joined: Thu Apr 12, 2007 3:03 am
Location: Michigan

Unread post by Larry M. »

OK, someone can correct me if I'm wrong. But.

FIRST: You can NOT use functions in a text line. It just displays the text only.

What you have to do is create Parameters (Parameter/Edit List) and parameters with the formulas you want. Then to display the parameter you would do the text command then select the >> double arrow and then chose formated text. Then to just to display a parameters value would would put the parameter name between < >.

So I think your close. You just need to do the calculations with parameters not text lines.
Last edited by Larry M. on Thu Jan 03, 2008 3:18 pm, edited 1 time in total.
micos3
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 36
Joined: Tue Nov 27, 2007 8:14 am

Unread post by micos3 »

I'm not getting but i'l try more harder at night. I'm almost there but i'm missing some detail, because i didn't knew this functions, neither the options of text that i see, so i'll work on your tip.

Thanks
Post Reply