[TS6] [VB 2010]: Dim TopSolid.Application the correct way in Win 10 ?

All topics about specific development with COM interface, LIP language, API in VB, ...

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

Post Reply
Holzknoten
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:16 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.14
Location: Münster

[TS6] [VB 2010]: Dim TopSolid.Application the correct way in Win 10 ?

Post by Holzknoten » Mon Feb 05, 2018 7:10 am

I use Visual Basic 2010 Express to automate TopSolid V618 in Windows 7 x64.

Now i got Windows 10 x64 and trouble with definition of TopSolid.Application.

The API examples of TopSolid Api documentation looks like this:

Code: Select all

Dim TopApp As TopSolid.Application
TopApp = New TopSolid.Application 'This starts TopSolid, if not already open or use current TopSolid in Win 7 x64
But in Windows 10 x64 it does not work.
When i open already TopSolid and start my VB-program as administrator the code above open again a TopSolid.Application. Why?
So my VB-program use the wrong TopSolid.Application

I try also to define a Object of TopSolid.Application like the VB-Way.

Code: Select all

TopApp = CreateObject("TopSolid.Application") 'This starts TopSolid, if not already open or use current TopSolid in Win 7 x64

Code: Select all

TopApp = GetObject("TopSolid.Application") 'try to use already open TopSolid in Win 7 x64. Doesn't work.
System.Exeption
{"The ActiveX-Component was not create."} (translated from German to English)
Is there a way to define direct (DirectCast) the open Process of TopSolid ???
by Holzknoten

MonkeySleeve
Private
Private
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:24 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Design
TopSolid Version: 7.7

Re: [TS6] [VB 2010]: Dim TopSolid.Application the correct way in Win 10 ?

Post by MonkeySleeve » Wed Oct 03, 2018 1:34 pm

Currently also experiencing this problem. I'm using the TopSolid 6.19 Type Library for version 6.19 and it refuses to use the already started application with an ActiveDocument, and instead opens a new application with no ActiveDocument off course causing it to fail.

Holzknoten
Master Corporal
Master Corporal
Posts: 34
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2011 7:16 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.14
Location: Münster

Re: [TS6] [VB 2010]: Dim TopSolid.Application the correct way in Win 10 ?

Post by Holzknoten » Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:39 am

Hi MonkeySleeve
win 10 and opening current TopSolid.Application is still working.

We have to know the new Security Standards of Win10.
If a "normal" User with "normal" rights starts TopSolid then the TopSolid.Application is in User environment with user rights.
When we start our VB-Tools we have to start in the same user environment of Win 10. (not "as Administrator") to see and use the TopSolid.Application from the "normal" User .

OR

We start TopSolid "as Administrator" and also our VB-Tools "as Administrator". So both is in the Administrator environment and can see each other.

sorry for my english, hope you can understand.

But the base question remains:
Is there a way to define direct (DirectCast) the open Process of TopSolid ??? (to use multiple TopSolid.applications at the same time)
by Holzknoten

MonkeySleeve
Private
Private
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Nov 17, 2016 10:24 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Design
TopSolid Version: 7.7

Re: [TS6] [VB 2010]: Dim TopSolid.Application the correct way in Win 10 ?

Post by MonkeySleeve » Mon Oct 08, 2018 10:21 am

Holzknoten wrote:
Mon Oct 08, 2018 6:39 am
Hi MonkeySleeve
win 10 and opening current TopSolid.Application is still working.

We have to know the new Security Standards of Win10.
If a "normal" User with "normal" rights starts TopSolid then the TopSolid.Application is in User environment with user rights.
When we start our VB-Tools we have to start in the same user environment of Win 10. (not "as Administrator") to see and use the TopSolid.Application from the "normal" User .

OR

We start TopSolid "as Administrator" and also our VB-Tools "as Administrator". So both is in the Administrator environment and can see each other.

sorry for my english, hope you can understand.

But the base question remains:
Is there a way to define direct (DirectCast) the open Process of TopSolid ??? (to use multiple TopSolid.applications at the same time)
Hi Holzknoten,

Thank you for your answer, this seems to make the most sense. I always start my Visual Studio as Administrator, which did seem the case why it wouldn't use the active TopSolid.Application since that wasn't started as Administrator.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest