Dimension text

Drawing, bill of material, 2D design, dimensioning, labeling, tolerances, symbols, title blocks...

Moderators: remi77, jacs, Daniel

Post Reply
User avatar
CAD_73
Master Chief
Master Chief
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:59 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.17
Location: The Netherlands

Dimension text

Post by CAD_73 » Mon Mar 09, 2015 5:55 pm

I can't seem to find a way to have my dimension text vertical (parallel to the dimension Lines) instead of the standar horizontal way.
Last edited by CAD_73 on Sun Dec 20, 2015 2:57 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Mark Oostveen
Chief
Chief
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:40 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Cam
TopSolid Version: 7.8
Location: The netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dimension text

Post by Mark Oostveen » Tue Mar 10, 2015 12:30 pm

I think it is the standard to make the text parallel to the dim. line. So can you show in a picture what you problem is?

Regards

Mark

User avatar
CAD_73
Master Chief
Master Chief
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:59 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.17
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Dimension text

Post by CAD_73 » Tue Mar 10, 2015 7:13 pm

dim 1.PNG
TopSolid
Wrong
dim 2.PNG
AutoCAD 3D

Mark Oostveen
Chief
Chief
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:40 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Cam
TopSolid Version: 7.8
Location: The netherlands
Contact:

Dimension text

Post by Mark Oostveen » Wed Mar 11, 2015 8:27 am

Do you use à template? Is yes which one? If no what selection do you make in terms of the standard?

Grz

Mark

User avatar
CAD_73
Master Chief
Master Chief
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:59 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.17
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Dimension text

Post by CAD_73 » Wed Mar 11, 2015 6:17 pm

Hi Mark,

For now I wasn’t using any template.

I’m trying to create my own template :lol: but this is one of the things I couldn’t change.

When I use Free A3 Horizontal mm the text is vertically reading, but still I want my dimension in the middle of the line, not above the line :D

Mark Oostveen
Chief
Chief
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:40 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Cam
TopSolid Version: 7.8
Location: The netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dimension text

Post by Mark Oostveen » Thu Mar 12, 2015 8:51 am

That' s not a problem. This setting you can find in either the application options (Tools-options-dimension) or in the document properties (file-properties) if you find it in this last one you have to set it when your template is empty and open. Set the setting and save your template in config\template

Good luck

Mark

steveforrest
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: Markham

Re: Dimension text

Post by steveforrest » Fri Mar 13, 2015 4:20 pm

Hi. When I have been creating a draft document. I set the text direction with Tools-Dimension Style-Advanced Options then check box Text Direction and highlite what I want for length and angle.
Steve.
TopSolid 7.8

Mark Oostveen
Chief
Chief
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 9:40 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Cam
TopSolid Version: 7.8
Location: The netherlands
Contact:

Re: Dimension text

Post by Mark Oostveen » Mon Mar 16, 2015 1:09 pm

Yes but we are talking version 6.14 not version 7.x

steveforrest
Private
Private
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Aug 29, 2012 8:53 pm
Location: Markham

Re: Dimension text

Post by steveforrest » Mon Mar 16, 2015 6:19 pm

Ahh my bad, I did wonder.
Steve

User avatar
CAD_73
Master Chief
Master Chief
Posts: 113
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 11:59 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Wood
TopSolid Version: 6.17
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Dimension text

Post by CAD_73 » Sun Dec 20, 2015 11:30 am

Still havn't found the right way :roll:
Draft.png
When using the Modify Element (wrench tool) I can change it like the PrintScreen. But when using Tools>Options>Dimensions there is no such option.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest