Posslbe to dig inside "TopSolid Machinig Tools" library?

Everything about new TopSolid'Cam 7 software.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, Bill

Post Reply
User avatar
michelle
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:45 pm
TopSolid Version: 7.7

Posslbe to dig inside "TopSolid Machinig Tools" library?

Post by michelle » Fri Oct 27, 2017 4:18 pm

Hi there,

I want to see how certain tools were defined in the pre-installed "TopSolid Machining Library". At the moment if I open a part in this library and then go to the "Machining compoent Wizard" to see how the tool has been defined I get the below error message (read only). Is it somehow possible to make a copy of this library so that I can "play" in side and not be restricted?
.
Screenshot.png
Thanks
Michelle
Last edited by michelle on Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:12 am, edited 1 time in total.

Billetgrip
Private First Class
Private First Class
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Jun 24, 2016 1:37 pm
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Cam
TopSolid Version: 7.12
Location: Huntsville, AL

Re: Posslbe to dig inside "TopSolid Machinig Tools" library?

Post by Billetgrip » Fri Oct 27, 2017 7:02 pm

You can look in your entities tree under Parameters and functions and see everything that makes up the tool. Under each Function you can single click and it will highlight what you're selecting in the graphics screen.

I used that a lot when I was making my tool library and tool assemblies.

AndiKS
Corporal
Corporal
Posts: 24
Joined: Fri Jul 31, 2009 10:43 am
TopSolid Module: TopSolid'Cam
TopSolid Version: 7.7

Re: Posslbe to dig inside "TopSolid Machinig Tools" library?

Post by AndiKS » Sat Oct 28, 2017 9:36 am

The Trick is to copy the Tools in a Project/Library from you!

You can't change any Document in the Missler Library but after you copy it to one of your Library you can change anything..

So it is possible to copy a Standard Tool, change what you need and use it...

User avatar
michelle
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:45 pm
TopSolid Version: 7.7

Re: Posslbe to dig inside "TopSolid Machinig Tools" library?

Post by michelle » Sat Oct 28, 2017 10:11 am

Ahh yes! Thanks Andi, that is exactly what I am looking for!! Also - thanks Bill for your helpful tip on look at the parameters.

Thank-you!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest