Is it a bad idea to have my local TopSolidPdm on the company Server?

Issues and questions related to TopSolid installation.

Moderators: remi77, Daniel, jacs

Post Reply
User avatar
michelle
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:45 pm
TopSolid Version: 7.7

Is it a bad idea to have my local TopSolidPdm on the company Server?

Post by michelle » Mon Sep 04, 2017 3:49 pm

Hello,

The way the computers on my network are setup is that everything which is located in "My Documents" actually resides on our Server instead of on each individual machine. So if my local "TopSolidPdm" folder was placed into MY Documents, it would actually be sitting on the server and not on my local machine. The advantage of this of course is that my "TopSolidPdm" folder will be automatically backed up every day when the server is backed up. But...

If my local "TopSolidPdm" folder is on the Server instead of my actual PC will this cause noticeable performance issues with TopSolid? Is it strongly recommend to rather place it in "C:\TopSolidPdm" of each local machine?

Thank again in advance,
Michelle
Last edited by michelle on Wed Sep 06, 2017 7:48 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
olaio
Volunteer Cadet
Volunteer Cadet
Posts: 177
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 11:42 am
Location: Leiria

Re: Is it a bad idea to have my local TopSolidPdm on the company Server?

Post by olaio » Mon Sep 04, 2017 9:52 pm

Hello,

i would advise you to use a local location for your local pdm.
Everything will be done locally and it will be faster for sure.

Olaio

User avatar
michelle
Sergeant
Sergeant
Posts: 66
Joined: Sun Sep 20, 2009 7:45 pm
TopSolid Version: 7.7

Re: Is it a bad idea to have my local TopSolidPdm on the company Server?

Post by michelle » Tue Sep 05, 2017 8:27 am

Okay thank-you. I've tried to move the PDM to my local C: drive but I'm having problems with it. I'll post a separate thread to ask how to move my PDM.

Thanks again.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests