[Solved] Creating a side insert

CAD solution for mold making: slider design, guide rails, jacks,
mold base, components and process, coolant circuit, control via mold levels, creation of drawings, parts lists...

Moderators: remi77, jacs, Daniel

P3cho
Private
Private

[Solved] Creating a side insert

Unread post by P3cho »

First of all I would like to say hello to everyone. I'm a newbie on this forum and also newbie when it comes to working with TS Mold and thats why I need some help from you guys.
I have a problem with creating side inserts. The problem is, I have to modify both cavity blocks with one insert, and I haven't found a single example of that in tutorials. I'll show a 2D view of the problem and a description.....I would also be very happy if you guys can describe your approach to this problem and how to approach to the creation of side inserts. So something like step by step tutorial would be great.

As you can see I would like to modify both cavity blocks and create a side insert with back locks, angular pins etc...I have made the rough representation of finished insert in 2D.

As I can't find a solution to this problem alone every little bit of information helps.

Thank you in advance.

Regards
Attachments
2D cross section of a problem
2D cross section of a problem
Side insert.JPG (174.26 KiB) Viewed 5356 times
finished inert.JPG
finished inert.JPG (63.27 KiB) Viewed 6077 times
P3cho
Private
Private

Unread post by P3cho »

No one?!
I gave it some thought an thought of 2 solutions:

1.) I tried to make 2 side inserts on same contour (bottom block and top block) and then unite them. But there is a problem-I can't get rid of basic shape-and that causes trouble through whole design(runners, cooling, ejectors etc...). I tried with extracting the "base" shape, but for some reason it doesn't work. The block keeps reappearing. Any suggestions?